Click here to see Performance History 1937-Present

Warren Civic Music Association, in Warren, Ohio, was founded in 1940, and is the oldest community arts organization in Trumbull County and one of the oldest in Ohio.  It is located in Northeastern Ohio, midway between Cleveland and Pittsburgh in an area rich in history, the arts, sports, and ethnic and cultural activities.
It is a non-profit organization, guided by an all-volunteer board of directors and no paid staff.  Dana School of Music, originally located in Warren, left its influence on Warren Civic Music with a legacy of musically oriented volunteers and appreciative audiences.
Warren Civic Music through its commitment and dedication to the arts, strives to enrich the lives of the members of our community by presenting an array of musical genres with the goal of excellent entertainment at affordable prices.
In the early years, the concerts were held in the Konold Auditorium of Warren G. Harding High School.  The venue changed in 1955 to the new W.D. Packard Music Hall, situated on 42 acres of Packard Park, and has called the 2,200 seat music hall “home” ever since.  
For two decades (1958-78) the Packard Music Hall was also the home of the famous Kenley Players – ”America’s Most Exciting Summer Theatre” –  and gained national recognition with some of the most popular stars of that era performing on the Packard stage.
Ezio Pinza, Metropolitan Opera Company baritone, performed the first year for Warren Civic Music. In 1949, he became the star of Broadway’s Rodgers and Hammerstein’s “South Pacific.”
In the early days of WCMA, receptions to honor the performers were held after the concerts in private homes, where tuxedos and formal dress were the norm. After the concerts were moved to the Packard Music Hall, these gatherings were held in the hospitality rooms of the venue.  Receptions no longer take place, but performers greet guests and sign autographs in the lobby after the performances.
WCMA has presented many famed artists of the world in a variety of programs. Early notables included:  Isaac Stern, Jerome Hines, Roberta Peters, Roger Williams, Peter Nero, Guy Lombardo, Woody Herman, Ferrante & Teicher, New Christy Minstrels, The Ohio State University Band, Vienna Boys Choir, Fred Waring, Warren’s own Irene Oliver, Gene Krupa Orchestra, Broadway productions, symphonies, operas, and ballets.  More recently performers have included America’s Got Talent finalists–The Texas Tenors– Debby Boone, The Diamonds,  Oak Ridge Boys, Linda Eder, The Lettermen,  Marilyn McCoo & Billy Davis, Jr., The Lennon Sisters, Home Free, winners of TV’s Sing-Off, and numerous other talented entertainers.  A complete performance history is available on the WCMA website.
The successful continuation of Warren Civic Music for over three-quarters of a century is a collective effort, thanks to loyal season ticket subscribers, dedicated board members, devoted volunteers, and the generous support of benefactors and patrons.


WCMA Officers Board Members
Jeffrey E. Dreves
Trudy C. Bayman
Teresa M. Massucci
William H. Dennis
James A. Bragger
K. Robert Matheny
James A. Bragger
Douglas A. Dennis
Ellie C. Monchak
William J. Long
William H. Dennis
Joann Petkovich
Assistant Treasurer
Cynthia L. Koehler
Jefferey E. Dreves
Richard A. Polko
Artist Selection
Ellie C. Monchak
James E. Herriman
Jean A. Potashnik
Asst. Artist Selection
Jean A. Potashnik
Roz Jackson
Mary Ellen Vencel
Cynthia L. Koehler
Brian D. Verch
Benton Lambert
Janet H. Vogt
William Litman
Kathy Wiltrout
Past Presidents
William J. Long
Kevin P. Wyndham
Donald J. Senne
Dick Lytle
Anne R. Yashnik
Robert W. Balson
K. Robert Metheny
Robert I. Lowry †
Donald L. Guarnieri †
Otto A. Lovett †
Rev. M. C. Johns †
Dr. Paul C. Gauchat †
Lewis L. Guarnieri †
Rev. Robert W. Fay †
Judge Dewey B. McVicker †
 † Deceased

30 queries. 0.646 seconds. - © 2012